Next

Volodymyr Kohut: "I perceived my victory in "Silver Easel" as a chance to stay in Ukraine"

Previous

27 October 2017
Sample pic

The victory in "Silver Easel" contest is not only an opportunity to learn something new and show oneself, but also a launching pad, a powerful stimulus for the development of their own creativity for numerous young artists. Moreover, it is a chance to stay here, on your native land, to be inspired and create here. The young artist from Lviv Volodymyr Kohut felt it himself. The talented young man received the prize in "Improvisation" nomination of the "Silver Easel" contest (spring 2017) and a special prize from Max and Julia Voloshyn, the founders of the Voloshyn Gallery. This summer the young artist together with another five talented Ukrainian artists presented his work at the Summer Show exhibition in Voloshyn Gallery. About the fate of Volodymyr after "Silver Easel" and what he is working on now – in the interview to the Ugallery portal, published just a few days ago (in the original language).


_ugallery_1.jpg — 359.38 kBVolodymyr Kohut: I have been told many times about the similarity to Basquiat

The name of the young artist from Lviv Volodymyr Kohut will undoubtedly be heard by everyone in the coming years, and we are happy to open for you the artist as an individual person. Special for Ugallery, our hero told us about the origin of his art skills, his resemblance to the legendary Jean-Michel Basquiat, and about new works done with the help of 3D modelling.

– As far as I know, the last two years have been very successful for you - participation in the "Silver Easel" contest where you won the nomination from the gallery owners Max and Julia Voloshyn. Then, your works took part in the group exhibition Summer Show in the Kyiv Voloshyn Gallery, what does such success mean for you, as an artist?

– Honestly, I never took part in art contest and competitions in general, that's why there was not such an obsessive desire to win, you know, as it happens to very "active" artists – their purpose doesn't justify means. I perceived my victory in "Silver Easel" as a chance to stay in Ukraine. Yes, I mean to stay, it can be said that the prize from Julia and Max left me here, having made me a Ukrainian artist. My close friends remember that about a year ago I was completely different. Every morning I started with finding the way of emigration. I woke up, turned on my laptop and spent a lot of my precious time -  to choose the country, to register documents, etc. I counted the days when the year would end and the long-awaited departure day would come. For me, this success is more than just a "chance for the artist" – it has become a part of my formation as a person, now I look at things as an artist who has to work for the good of his country.

– Your works cannot be but compared to the works of the legendary Jean-Michel Basquiat, tell us about your style and technique, where does your art originate from?

– Everything originates from the "image," a starting point appears in my head in the form of memory or a fantasy, I paint it sometimes, and in particular, it almost always disappears with time. From other objects that are created on its basis on the canvas there is a self-destruction of the initial image of subsequent outbursts of emotions and written texts. This moment is akin to one aspect of a child's fantasy picture (where the child does not copy our world) and there are always inconsistencies in the drawings, images can not touch each other, even if such a world existed. It is doomed to self-destruction, there are no interrelations in children's drawings, I probably like painting images that exist only for themselves. I sometimes wonder if Basquiat had a similar opinion about the "image"?


___ugallery_5.jpg — 532.42 kBV. Kohut’s work

– Aren’t you afraid of comparisons with Basquiat? How important is the viewer and his opinion about your work to you?

– Am I afraid of comparisons? ... probably not, I think the fear of being "unlike" kills much more than holding the world view that is close to you. I knew such students and young artists who for 5-6 years were looking for something that no one had done before or a topic that no one worked with, and, in the end, the very process of searching destroyed them. Speaking of copying, my attitude is negative. I have been told many times about the similarity to Basquiat, nevertheless all those who say so, look at my work and do not move away until they read all the fonts on it or consider the life of individual images on the canvas in details. I think this is a kind of magic. Personally for me, the viewer is important as someone who is interested in knowing what the work portrays, it is a kind of dialogue, when the child brings his work to parents, and they almost always ask "What is it depicted in it?" and the child tells them enthusiastically. It is important for me that a viewer would sincerely ask "What's it?".


___ugallery_2.jpg — 390.52 kBV. Kohut in the studio

– Within the framework of the group exhibition at Voloshyn Gallery in Kyiv, you showed the work "Archaic Family". To read this work you call us to look at it through the eyes of a child who only starts knowing the world. It turns out, as if you proclaim the manifesto: watch art with a clear look. But, how can this be done in reality, because television and social networks distort our reality and art in particular?– 

– The modern world turns a lot in perception, sometimes it seems to me that soon even children will stop drawing clear images, the Internet and social networks has changed everything so much. Now probably as never before it is important to reconsider our views on many things, to analyse our life not because it is wrong, but simply because of caution not to succumb to the influence of this ruthless information flow that devastates a person and destroys everything sincere and fragile in him.

– And, do you have a desire to comprehend what is happening in Ukraine, and in the world in general, with help of universal codes of children's creativity?

– I do have. And, it is always with me. I remember one little girl, who was sitting at a table and painting bushes and a house, and at the same time her parents were quarrelling in the kitchen, but despite tears the girl continued painting. When I paint gloomy, but children’s cloud that floats over the next head, it has more of "Ukrainian conflict" than posters with guns and slogans.

– As a big fan of Basquiat's creativity, I often meet with the reaction "I can do it too", I think it's familiar to you, do you need to persuade an opponent and whether you do it?

– I often hear such statements. No, I do not exactly convince anybody, but I always try very hard to explain why I paint in such a way, why it is important … it's not always successful, sometimes it's more important for people to see a waterfall with rocks and dew, because everything is there and everything is clear.

– Let’s get back to the Summer Show, except for the work "Archaic Family", I saw a series of interesting "images" - sketches to it. One of the works depicted the shoes of the cult fashion house Balenciaga, how do you feel about the integration of fashion and art?

– The sketch is very personal, I’m pleased that it attracted attention, I like sports footwear very much, and its design seems to me just the case where a huge aesthetic potential should be aimed at an uncompromising functional. Regarding integration in fashion, I have a positive attitude and willingly sign the right to use my work for printing on model clothes, I think it is very important what people wear, not in terms of brand, but from an individual position to aesthetics of form and style.


___ugallery_10.jpg — 544.74 kBPictures by V. Kohut in the exposition

– Can you designate the range of topics that you are interested to explore?

– For me the important topic is the "problem of a person", his place here, his contribution, is it important or also temporary? I am very much concerned with the topic of progress, informational in particular, the problem of neural networks and artificial intelligence, biomechanics and the replacement of human flesh with artificial one. It seems that the world is on the verge of a big leap into the future, and the artist's task is always to raise questions of humanity and sincerity.

– You are an artist, who lives in Lviv, but the centre of art is undoubtedly Kyiv, are you ready to move to the capital for further deeper integration into the art community?

– Quite an interesting question. Kyiv is undoubtedly the centre of art movement in Ukraine, and the rhythm of life is very much higher, compared to Lviv. A simple example: when the light turns green, the cars react three times more quickly. If there is an offer to participate in an interesting project, in order to feel it I will certainly move to the capital for a while. But just for the sake of art, the reason obviously will not be "making connections" and "visiting the art parties", I'm quite a private person, although it cannot be said by my works.


___ugallery_3.jpg — 553.18 kBV. Kohut works on a painting

– Tell us about your next project, what shall we expect?

– Right now I'm answering your question, and the next project is rendering on the other monitor, I apply CG 3D Art technologies for it. This project is a search for a place of art in the modern world, an attempt to integrate the image of a person into the inhuman space that is devoid of the laws inherent in this world; it seems to me that the child's image reveals a certain question about the density of a person’s world. It is noteworthy that my project, which raises the question of the importance of the real world, is funded by the German company Cinema 4D, the main developer in the market of 3D modelling software. They saw the importance of raising this topic for the USA, Germany, and Ukraine. Many thanks to Voloshyn Gallery, which in every possible way gives help as a curator, it is very important for me, because the artist is only a part of the idea chain, which in the end should be demonstrated in public. I hope very much to make a big project soon and raise questions for the Ukrainian and foreign viewers about the reality and humanity of people. If you ask me why I chose 3D graphics as a medium, rather than the classical real material, I’ll say probably just because of "reality", working with the theme one should always speak the language it reveals. I do not understand the concept when an artist is one-sided, one must strongly feel the world and be sympathetic to it.

I would like to present a special gift to the readers of Ugallery, making a screenshot of the project process stage, which is being created right now.


___ugallery_7.jpg — 535.03 kB
___ugallery_8.jpg — 260.49 kB
___ugallery_9.jpg — 335.34 kB

Author: Mykola Kravchenko

Ugallery

Next

Volodymyr Kohut: "I perceived my victory in "Silver Easel" as a chance to stay in Ukraine"

Previous

Наступна новина

Володимир Когут: «Перемігши в конкурсі «Срібний мольберт», я сприйняв це як шанс залишитися в Україні»

Попередня новина

27 жовтня 2017
Sample pic

Перемога в конкурсі «Срібний мольберт» – не тільки можливість навчитися чомусь новому й показати себе, а й стартовий майданчик, потужний стимул для розвитку власної творчості для багатьох молодих митців. А ще – шанс лишитися тут, на рідній землі, тут надихатися й творити. Всім цим студентський конкурс став для молодого львів’янина Володимира Когута. Талановитий юнак, нагадаємо, виборов нагороду в номінації «Імпровізація» конкурсу «Срібний мольберт» (весна, 2017) та спеціальну премію від Максима та Юлії Волошиних, засновників галереї сучасного мистецтва Voloshyn Gallery. Цього літа молодий митець разом із ще п’ятьма талановитими українськими митцями презентував свою роботу на виставці Summer Show у Voloshyn Gallery. Про те, як склалася доля Володимира після «Срібного мольберта» і над чим він працює нині – в інтерв’ю на порталі Ugallery, опублікованому буквально цими днями (мовою оригіналу).

_ugallery_1.jpg — 359.38 kBВладимир Когут: «Мне много раз говорили о сходстве с Баския»

Молодой львовский художник Владимир Когут несомненно в ближайшие годы будет у всех на слуху, и мы рады открыть для вас художника как личность. Специально для ugallery наш герой рассказал о том, из чего зарождается его искусство, сходстве с легендарным Жаном-Мишелем Баския, новых работах, выполненных при помощи 3d моделирования.

– Насколько я знаю, два последних года для тебя выдались весьма успешными, участие в конкурсе «Срібний мольберт», где ты стал победителем в номинации от галеристов Максима и Юлии Волошиных. В дальнейшем твои работы были частью групповой выставки Summer Show в киевской галерее Voloshyn Gallery, что для тебя, как для художника, значат такие успехи?

– Честно говоря, никогда до этого не принимал участие в состязаниях между художниками и в конкурсах в целом, наверное, поэтому не было такого навязчивого желания побеждать, знаешь, как это бывает у очень «активных» художников — у них цель не оправдывает средства. Победив в конкурсе «Срібний мольберт» я воспринял это как шанс остаться в Украине. Да, именно остаться, можно сказать, что приз от Юлии и Максима, оставили меня здесь, сделав украинским художником. Очень близкие люди из моего окружения помнят, что примерно год назад, я был совсем другой, каждое утро я начинал с поиска пути эмиграции. Я просыпался, включал ноутбук и тратил много драгоценного времени, выбор страны, оформление документов и прочее, считал дни, когда закончится год и придет долгожданный день отъезда. Для меня этот успех больше, нежели просто «шанс как для художника» – это стало как бы частью становления меня как личности, теперь я смотрю на вещи как художник, который должен работать во благо своей страны.

– Твои работы нельзя не сравнить с работами легендарного Жана-Мишеля Баския, расскажи о своем стиле и технике, с чего зарождается твое искусство?

– Все зарождается из «образа», некая отправная точка, появляется в голове в виде воспоминания или фантазии, я рисую его и иногда, а в частности почти всегда он со временем исчезает, от других объектов которые создаются на его основе, на холсте, получается самоуничтожение первоначального образа последующими вспышками эмоций и написанных текстов. Этот момент сродни одному аспекту детского фантазийного рисунка (где ребенок не копирует еще наш мир) и в рисунках всегда есть несостыковка мировоззрения , образы не могут соприкасаться друг с другом, даже если такой мир и существовал, он обречен на самоуничтожение, в детских рисунках нет взаимосвязи, наверное мне нравится рисовать образы, которые существуют только сами для себя. Мне иногда интересно, имел ли Баския схожий взгляд на «образ»?


___ugallery_5.jpg — 532.42 kBРабота В. Когута

– Не боишься ли ты сравнений с Баския? Насколько для тебя важен зритель и его мнение о твоем творчестве?

– Боюсь ли сравнений? … наверное нет, думаю страх быть «непохожим» убивает намного больше, нежели держаться того мировоззрения, которое близко по духу. Я видел таких студентов и молодых художников, которые по 5-6 лет ищут что-то, чего никто не делал, и тему, с которой никто не работал, и, в конце концов, сам процесс поиска их уничтожил. Если говорить о копировании, мое отношение – негативное. Мне много раз говорили о сходстве с Баския, тем не менее все кто говорят об этом, смотрят на работу и не отходят пока не прочитают все написанные на ней шрифты или не рассмотрят подробно жизнь отдельных образов на холсте, думаю в этом и есть магия. Лично для меня зритель важен как тот, кому интересно узнать, что на работе изображено, это некий диалог, когда ребенок приносит работу родителям, практически всегда родители спрашивают «Что здесь изображено?», и ребенок с трепетом рассказывает, вот для меня важно что бы зритель искренне задал вопрос «Что здесь?».


___ugallery_2.jpg — 390.52 kBВ. Когут в мастерской

– В рамках групповой выставки в киевской галерее Voloshyn Gallery ты показал работу «Архаическая семья» и для прочтения этой работы призываешь нас взглянуть на это глазами ребенка, который только познает мир. Получается, словно провозглашаешь манифест: смотрите на искусство чистым взглядом. Но как это сделать в реальности, ведь телевизор и социальные сети искажают нашу реальность и искусство в частности?

– Современный мир переворачивает многое в восприятии, иногда мне кажется, что вот-вот и даже дети перестанут рисовать чистые образы, все настолько сильно изменили интернет и социальные сети. Наверное, сейчас как никогда важно пересмотреть свои взгляды на многие вещи, анализировать свою жизнь не потому, что она неправильная, а просто из-за осторожности не поддаться под влияние этого безжалостного потока информации, который опустошает человека и уничтожает в нем все искреннее и хрупкое.

– А у тебя не возникает желание осмыслить то, что сейчас происходит в Украине, да и в мире в целом, с помощью универсальных кодов детского творчества?

– Желание есть и оно всегда со мной, как то вспомнилось из прошлого, я видел, как маленькая девочка сидела за столом и рисовала кусты и домик, параллельно родители на кухне очень сильно ругались, но, несмотря на слезы, девочка продолжала рисовать. Когда я рисую хмурое, но детское облако, которое проплывает над очередной головой, в этом больше «украинского конфликта» нежели в плакатах с автоматами и лозунгами.

– Я, как большой фанат творчества Баския, часто в общении сталкиваюсь с реакцией окружающих «я тоже так могу», я думаю тебе это знакомо, нужно ли переубеждать оппонента и делаешь ли это ты?

– Частенько слышу такие высказывания, нет, я точно никого не переубеждаю, но всегда очень искреннее стараюсь объяснить, для чего так рисую, почему это важно… Скажу честно – далеко не всегда успешно, иногда для людей важнее увидеть водопад со скалами и росой, там ведь все есть и все понятно.

– Еще немного вернемся к выставке Summer Show, кроме работы «Архаическая семья», я увидел серию интересных «образов» — зарисовок к ней. На одной из работ была изображена обувь культового модного дома Balenciaga, как ты относишься к интеграции моды и искусства?

– Зарисовка очень личная, приятно, что она привлекла внимание, я очень сильно люблю спортивную обувь, и ее дизайн мне кажется как раз тот случай, где огромный эстетический потенциал должен быть направлен на бескомпромиссный функционал. Относительно интеграции в моду, я положительно отношусь и охотно подписываю права на использование для печати на модельной одежде своих работ, думаю очень важно, что люди одевают, но с точки зрения не брендовости, а с индивидуальной позиции к эстетике формы и стиля.


___ugallery_10.jpg — 544.74 kBКартины В. Когута в экспозиции

– Можешь обозначать круг тем, которые тебе интересно исследовать?

– Для меня всегда останется важной темой — «проблема человека», его место здесь, и оставляемый след важен ли он или он тоже временный? Меня очень в последнее время беспокоит тема прогресса, информационного в частности, проблема нейронных сетей и искусственного интеллекта, биомеханики и замена человеческой плоти на искусственную. Кажется, мир стоит на пороге большого прыжка в будущее, и место художника всегда поднимать вопросы гуманности и искренности.

– Ты — художник, проживающий во Львове, но центром искусства, несомненно, является Киев, готов ли ты для дальнейшей более глубокой интеграции в арт-сообщество переехать в столицу?

– Весьма интересный вопрос. Киев несомненно является центром движения искусства в Украине, и ритм жизни очень высок, по сравнению со Львовом. Простой пример: когда загорается зеленый свет на перекрестке, автомобили раза в три реагируют быстрее. Если будет предложение участвовать в интересном проекте, и для того чтобы прочувствовать его, я непременно перееду в столицу на время. Но только ради искусства, причиной явно не будет «завести связи» и «появляться на арт-вечеринках», я довольно закрытый человек, хотя по работам такого явно не скажешь.


___ugallery_3.jpg — 553.18 kBВ. Когут работает над созданием картины

– Расскажи о своих следующих проектах, чего ждать?

– Прямо сейчас отвечаю на твой вопрос, а на другом мониторе рендерится следующий проект, в котором я применяю медиа CG 3d Art технологий. Данный проект – это поиск места искусства в современном мире, попытка интегрировать образ человека в бесчеловечное пространство, которое лишено законов присущих этому миру; мне кажется, что детский образ открывает в человеке некий вопрос о плотности его мира. Примечательно то, что мой проект, который поднимает вопрос о важности реального мира, финансирует германская компания Cinema 4d, главный разработчик на рынке 3d программ для моделирования, они разглядели в этом важность поднятия данной темы как для США и Германии, так и для Украины. Огромная благодарность Voloshyn Gallery, которая всячески дает помощь как кураторскую, так и большую отзывчивость в плане сотрудничества, для меня это очень важно, ведь художник только часть цепочки идеи, которая в конце должна быть продемонстрирована на публике. Очень надеюсь в скором времени сделать большой проект и поднять для украинского и зарубежного зрителя вопросы реальности и человечности людей. Если спросить, почему я выбрал именно в качестве медиума трехмерную графику, а не классический реальный материал, наверное, как раз таки по причине «реальности», работая с темой всегда нужно говорить на языке, который ее раскрывает. Мне чуждо понятие, когда художник однотипен, нужно сильно чувствовать мир и быть отзывчивым к нему.

Хотел бы преподнести особенный подарок читателям Ugallery, делаю скрин этапа процесса проекта, который создается прямо сейчас.

___ugallery_7.jpg — 535.03 kB

___ugallery_8.jpg — 260.49 kB
___ugallery_9.jpg — 335.34 kB
Автор: Кравченко Николай

Ugallery



Наступна новина

Володимир Когут: «Перемігши в конкурсі «Срібний мольберт», я сприйняв це як шанс залишитися в Україні»

Попередня новина

Адреса:
88000 м. Ужгород, пл.
Жупанатська, 1 офіс 7
Графік роботи:
пн-пт: 9.00 – 18.00
сб-нд – вихідні
Менеджер конкурсу:
+38 (063) 101-33-13
Знайди нас в:
  Facebook
  Youtube
  Instagram